Heaven is for Real

By Velma Amundson

We recently watched the movie “Heaven is for Real”. I really enjoyed it. I have to say, I’m no expert on whether or not this little boy “went to heaven and back”. We know that God took Enoch and Elijah directly to heaven, and we know from Revelation that John was given a vision. I’m willing to leave it at that.

What struck me, though, was the title: “Heaven is for Real”. My first thought was “Duh”. I mean, after all, isn’t that what we hope for, what we look forward to? One of my husband’s favorite Bible passages comes from John 14:1-2, “Let not your hearts be troubled, believe in God. Believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so would I have told you I go to prepare a place for you? (ESV). I think of all the songs we sing, “Beyond the Sunset”, “Mansion on a Hilltop”. The first verse of one of my favorite songs, and I have many, says, “This world is not my home, I’m just a passing through. My treasure is laid up somewhere beyond the blue. The angels beckon me from Heaven’s open door and I can’t feel a home in this world anymore.” There are so many songs which tell us of the hope that we have that God has provided a place for us to be with him for all eternity. What a glorious promise and hope to cling to.

I hope that this spate of summer movies featuring religious themes has given you hope and inspiration. I hope that if someone asks you about it you can say, “Yes, of course Heaven is for real, God promised so it must be”. I hope most of all that as we live our lives we remember that hope and cling to our Lord, Jesus Christ, who made it possible for us to hope.

 

One thought on “Heaven is for Real

  1. Thank you for sharing this! From my own personal experience, I read the book in one sitting and bawled through it all, because the family was so much like ours had been: no health insurance, several small children, busy with ministry and thinking ” Its nothing, he will get over it, we won’t take him in to the doctor.” One of my sixth grade public school students who is quite troubled just lost the main male influence in his life, his grandfather. When I went to the funeral home to express my sympathies, the student mentioned seeing “Heaven is for Real” and being comforted by that movie.
    I just saw a short interview with the producer of this movie and several others. He is a Christian pastor who desires to produce more positive religious movies. I haven’t had time to check out all of his credentials, but I was encouraged! http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/sony-exec-devon-franklin-talks-695533

Leave a Reply

