INTENTIONAL

By Sarah Langness

I waste a lot of time.

I hate that I do, but it’s true.

The local garage sale websites on Facebook always reel me in; thinking “just in case” I find something we “need”. I aimlessly scroll through the Yahoo news feed, learning nothing of real importance. I look through recipes I have no intention of ever making, but the whole process of “looking” makes me feel like I’m accomplishing while my brain can zone out.

At the end of the day, I usually realize how much time I wasted. Time I could have – should have – spent doing other things.

I usually realize this in the sweet moments of bedtime with my son. As he cuddles on my lap with his sock in hand, thumb in mouth, arm wrapped around his giraffe (or other chosen cuddle animal of the night), and his little blue blankie on his lap. Whether it’s just he and I reading from his Rhyme Bible or if Daddy is able to read a chapter from the Bible to us, those twenty minutes are oh-so precious to me. As we read through a Bible story or a book about Johnny Tractor or Good Night Gorilla, I realize how short twenty minutes is. I wish I could extend this story time, cuddle time, hold-him-close time. I wish I could freeze time and that such moments will never end.

And then I think, What did I do today that I could have cut out to make more time for Ezekiel?

Yeah, there are certain things that need to get done.

The laundry needs to be folded.
Supper needs to get made.
Groceries need to be bought.
Dishes need to be washed.
Baby’s room needs to get de-cluttered.

And wonderfully, these things usually happen with my little man right at my side! He loves to “help” fold clothes, play in the spice cabinet, go to the grocery store.

But so often, these are my agenda items. Why is it that when I sit down to play with him, or to simply watch him play and learn, I feel like I have to do something else?

If I’ve learned anything in the past 20 1/2 months as a mom, it’s that the time goes too fast. That I need to make the most of every moment, enjoy every day and every stage, to cherish every laugh and giggle.

But it’s not just time that should have been spent playing with and enjoying my son that I waste.

It’s time learning how I can better serve and love my husband.
It’s time investing in real relationships.
It’s time reading my Bible (instead of a Facebook news feed).
It’s time making a meal for a hurting family.
It’s time praying for the lost.
It’s time challenging my creativity and patience by learning to embroider towels.
It’s time reading something of worth (sorry, Yahoo News).

More to-do lists isn’t going to change me. Setting time limits on screen time might be beneficial. But what’s really got to change is my heart, my mindset, my desire to be intentional.

“Be careful how you walk, not as unwise men but as wise, making the most of your time, because the days are evil. So then do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.” – Ephesians 5:15-17, NASB (emphasis mine)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

