Grandma Again!

By Velma Amundson

I’m a grandma again. Our son’s wife gave birth to a healthy baby girl Nov. 16th, a day after Josh’s birthday! Less than a week later we received a phone call from them asking for help. They were exhausted, and needed me. Of course, I went. As I walked that new baby (her name is Sakura), I couldn’t help but think about Mary and Joseph in a strange city with no one to help them. Were they exhausted by a newborn that didn’t want to sleep, or that was fussy? (I know, we never think of Jesus being that way, but He was fully human, and I’m sure He cried like any other newborn). I wondered, did someone notice this new mother and offer help? I know Josh and Lizz expressed how much they appreciated my help for the week that I was there. Then, of course, I went home.

As I’ve pondered the miracle of this birth, I think of the Bible verse from Psalms 139:13, “For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb”, and Jeremiah 1:5a “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you…” The Jeremiah verse is the calling of Jeremiah, but it fits for me here. I am satisfied that God knew Sakura before she was born, that he formed her in her mother’s womb, and that everything is ok because she is a child of God.

I don’t know the future. I don’t know what troubles or blessings that Sakura or any of us may face. But, I do know who holds the future and will care for my granddaughter as He has for me. Jeremiah 29:11 says, “I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.” The song, “Because He Lives”, says “Because I know He holds the future and life is worth the living just because He lives”.

I will leave her and the rest of us there, in God’s hands, knowing that whatever comes, He walks with us.

 

Leave a Reply

