“Who Do You Work For?”

Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ. – Colossians 3:23-24

I’m sharing my struggle with those of you who know what it is to struggle with craving acceptance. The desire, or even compulsion, to want to make everyone in your life happy motivates you, and depletes you, at the same time.

The past few months I have had some professional help identifying, and then asking God to bring healing to the broken places of my life. It is a journey I am still on, and one that while it has exhausted me at times, is allowing my mind and heart to see some things for what they are (the good, the bad, and the ugly) in my life.

My lesson to date can be summed up as this – when I make pleasing my family, my friends, my church, my community (both near and far) the top priority in my life I am NOT helping anyone, nor am I living the life that God has given me to live for His glory. You see, as soon as I please one person, maybe even five or ten at the same time, I’m inevitably disappointing someone else. Then I get on the crazy cycle of trying to please those whom I’ve disappointed, only to let down others. And it goes on, and on, and on.

When I get on this people pleasing frenzy, I am saying to God, and saying to others, that they have a more important role in my life than He does. I’ve run into this truth up front and personally this week. It has not been fun. It has made me think all the time I’ve invested into being a wife, mom, pastor’s wife, friend, and more have been a waste. What a lie that is. It is a lie I don’t want to live. I know that my life does matter. Not because of me, but because of Who made me.

So my fellow people pleasers, would you join me in putting First things first in our lives? Loving others in the process, but realizing that our value does not come from them, it comes from the One who made us.

Leave a Reply

