Saving Sins

By Velma Amundson

This theological discussion took place between my two granddaughters and was overheard by their mother;
Katie: “Jesus saves sins.”
Miriam: “No He doesn’t”
Katie: “Yes He does”
Miriam: “No He doesn’t”
Katie: “Yes He does. Jesus saves sins.”
Miriam: “No, you have it wrong. Jesus saves us from our sins”.

So which girl are you like? Do you picture God, or Jesus up there somewhere with a huge book in which he records all your misdeeds? Then he uses the book to punish us for every infraction we ever did? Some people do see God like that. We certainly can do it ourselves,and do it to ourselves, keeping track of everything we have ever done (did) wrong and reliving or remembering it over and over.

But of course, Miriam has it right. The book of Romans has many verses concerning sin and salvation. I like these: Romans 5:8-9 ( ESV ) “but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Since, therefore, we have now been justified by his blood, much more shall we be saved by him from the wrath of God”, and Romans 10:9 ( ESV ) “because, if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved”.

What comfort it brings me to know that God loves me so much that He loved me before I was even born, that faith and repentance are (is) all that is required, and His Word also promises (adding to it is this): Hebrews 8:12 ( ESV ) “For I will be merciful toward their iniquities, and I will remember their sins no more.” So, not only does Christ love me and forgive(s) me, He blots out my sins and does not remember them again.”

Praise God for His love and mercy.

Leave a Reply

