Sin Spots

By Velma Amundson

I have psoriasis. When I get out of the tub, I can see these ugly, red blotches on my legs. I imagine that’s what sin looks like on my soul. These ugly red blotches that mar the purity that God planned. I’ve tried a lot of things to get rid of my psoriasis, and so far, nothing works. It’s the same way with the sin spots. No matter what I do, how hard I try I can’t get rid of the spots by myself. Fortunately, I don’t have to. I have a Savior who takes away the sin. In fact, John 3:17 says, “For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world might be saved through him.” In Psalm 51:7, the Psalmist says, “Purge me with hyssop and I shall be clean, wash me and I shall be whiter than snow”. Now I consider that this is GREAT news. My Savior, Jesus, can save me of my sins and wash the sins stains away, and make me pure. Even better, Ephesians 2:8 tells me this is the gift of God, not of my own doing so I can boast about it, but a free gift.

I see the spots, and think ugly. My husband sees the spots, I know he does, he’s not blind. But, in a way he is. All he sees is me. You see, he loves me with his whole heart and he loves me just the way I am. The same is true of God. John 3:16 says it all, “For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosever believeth in him shall not die but have eternal life”. If possible, Romans 5:8-9 says it even better, “but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners Christ died for us. Since therefore, we have now been justified by his blood, much more shall we be saved by him from the wrath of God.”

I pray that if you are reading this and you do not know Christ as your Savior, that you will turn to Him today and ask His forgiveness. He will come in, forgive you and cleanse you.

Leave a Reply

