God Knows Us

by Velma Amundson

I thought I knew exactly where this blog was going this morning. And, I was exactly wrong…or only partially right.

It’s been an interesting week, or day. We’ve literally gone from birth to death…all in one day. Kind of changes things. But not really.

In March our son called to tell us he and his wife were expecting in November. Today he called to say they are having a little girl. I thought of this verse:

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you; I appointed you a prophet to the nations.”  Jeremiah 1:5

I thought, isn’t it nice to know that God already knows my granddaughter!  Even before she is born He already cares for her and loves her. Of course, we pray daily that He will watch over her and her mother, to keep them safe and for a safe and healthy delivery. After she is born, we will have the pleasure and duty to be sure that she knows God. That’s true for all of us. Even before we were born, God knew us. I like to think that while we were nestled beneath our mother’s heart, God spoke to us. I know it’s a bit of fancy, but it could be.

Then there is the promise that God walks with us daily and has plans for us. In Jeremiah 29:11 we are told:

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for wholeness and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

God plans good things for us. Even the trials that we go through are to strengthen us and make us fit for Him. I know He walks with me, and I know that He will walk with my new granddaughter-to-be. I know that whatever we face, we face it with God at our side.

Which leaves the final journey. John had a call yesterday that one of our parishioners had fallen and broken his hip. He had surgery to repair it today. It’s a surgery that he did not survive. While his family grieved, they also commented that they knew where he was now. Now he was beginning his new life with Christ and they could not imagine anything better for him. John 14:1-3 says:

“Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also.”

Cool. From before we are born until we are “born again” into our new life in Christ on this earth, and then finally meet Him in heaven, God walks with us, to guide us, comfort us, love us. I think of the song “In the Garden” where it says:

“And I walk with him and I talk with him, and he tells me I am his own. And the joy we share as we tarry there, none other has ever known.”

I wish you daily the joy of walking with Christ and leaning on his strength.

This entry was posted in Devotional, Situational and tagged , , , , by paulajo58. Bookmark the permalink.

About paulajo58

The national and district organization of the women of the AFLC (Assoc. of Free Lutheran Congregations) is called the Women’s Missionary Federation (WMF). In 1962 the women of the AFLC banded together to help further the work of the church. The society they formed became the Women’s Missionary Federation, working at home and abroad to further love in the kingdom of God, to unite the women of the AFLC in missions and Christian education, and to organize missionary activities in the local congregations.

Leave a Reply

