A Perfect Picture

by Sarah Nelson

As I was hanging pictures on the walls of our new home, I thought of a simply decorated wall hanging that has been on my parents’ walls for many years at many different addresses.  It is not an expensive piece of art.  It’s not ornate, masterfully designed, or worth many dollars.  It is a Bible verse written in beautiful calligraphy and decorated with some simple purple and blue flowers.  I don’t treasure that picture because of it’s appearance, but because of  the message on it that reached my heart many, many times over the years.  The verse?

“For my grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

Paul was given a thorn in the flesh and pleaded with the Lord to remove it.  What was the Lord’s response?

“Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me.  But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.  For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”  2 Corinthians 12:8-10  (ESV)

Do you have a situation in your life that is a painful thorn?  Do you have troubled relationships, a difficult workplace experience, or a physical challenge that is making your life seem unbearable?   Have you asked God time and time again to remove it and His answer has been no, or not yet?  If that is the case, know that He does see, He does hear, He does care, and He does have a plan to use that thorn for His glory.  His grace IS sufficient for us.  This doesn’t mean we are spared pain, tears, and loss, but it does mean friends that He is WITH us.

May God remind you today that His power is made perfect in the weaknesses of our lives.  Less of us, more of Him.  May that be the picture of our lives.

This entry was posted in Devotional, Situational and tagged , , , , by paulajo58. Bookmark the permalink.

About paulajo58

The national and district organization of the women of the AFLC (Assoc. of Free Lutheran Congregations) is called the Women’s Missionary Federation (WMF). In 1962 the women of the AFLC banded together to help further the work of the church. The society they formed became the Women’s Missionary Federation, working at home and abroad to further love in the kingdom of God, to unite the women of the AFLC in missions and Christian education, and to organize missionary activities in the local congregations.

Leave a Reply

