Follow Me!

by Velma Amundson

I was in the lunch line at the AFLC Annual Conference last week at the ARC, and happily talking with a friend of mine. We were chatting and walking along, enjoying ourselves, when I heard a voice behind me, “Velma, where are you going? The line is this way”. It seems I do this frequently. My husband and I will be taking a walk. It’s so much fun and there is so much to look at, or think about. I can be happily walking along, watching the clouds, the birds, singing a little song. I’ll be so engrossed in what I’m doing that I completely miss the turn home. Then I hear that familiar voice behind me, “Velma, where are you going?  Home is this way”. Of course, I turn around and get back on the “right path”, following the voice of my husband.

It’s like that following Christ, too. Sometimes I get so wrapped up in what’s going on around me that I get a little lost. When I taught my Confirmation class, we talked about being in the wilderness. They all agreed that the wilderness was a dangerous place to be, full of temptation and evil. I talked to them about a different kind of wilderness, one where there are trees and flowers and beauty all around us. A wilderness that we would feel safe in, let our guard down. Of course, that’s when the danger is the greatest. It’s when we are most susceptible to temptation and getting a little lost.

“My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow Me.”  John 10:27  (NASB)

Thankfully, when I get a little lost, or distracted, I hear the voice of my Savior saying, “Velma, where are you going? The way is with me”. I know His voice, and I follow.

I pray that whenever you “get a little lost”, you hear the voice of Christ saying, “Where are you going?”, and you follow Him. May God bless and keep you.

This entry was posted in Devotional, Situational and tagged , , , , by paulajo58. Bookmark the permalink.

About paulajo58

The national and district organization of the women of the AFLC (Assoc. of Free Lutheran Congregations) is called the Women’s Missionary Federation (WMF). In 1962 the women of the AFLC banded together to help further the work of the church. The society they formed became the Women’s Missionary Federation, working at home and abroad to further love in the kingdom of God, to unite the women of the AFLC in missions and Christian education, and to organize missionary activities in the local congregations.

Leave a Reply

