Helpless

by Velma Amundson

Have you ever felt completely helpless? I think at one time or another most of us have. We’ve been in a situation we were unable to change or do anything about. Eleven years ago, my husband, son and I were in a car accident. My husband broke his ribs; my son hurt his knee and shoulder. I broke my left wrist and right ankle, as well as severely spraining my left ankle and right thumb. When I got home from the hospital, I was pretty helpless. I couldn’t dress or clean myself; I couldn’t cook, clean house, or even walk. My husband and son couldn’t help much because of their injuries. Fortunately, my mother came to take care of us.

It’s like that with sin. We’re helpless. There is nothing we can do to get rid of it no matter how hard we try. We will never be strong enough, good enough, righteous enough that God will say, “There you go, no sin”. We could give away everything that we have, devote ourselves to the poor and helpless and live in the church. We could go to church every Sunday, study our Bible every hour, and pray continually, and it still would not be good enough. Fortunately, we don’t have to be good enough. Jesus came to take care of us.

We are beginning the season of Lent. Often we are asked to give up something as a sacrifice. I think this year; I want to hold onto something, that when Christ died on that cross, he took my sins with him. I may be helpless, but thankfully, Christ is not.

This entry was posted in Devotional, Situational and tagged , by paulajo58. Bookmark the permalink.

About paulajo58

The national and district organization of the women of the AFLC (Assoc. of Free Lutheran Congregations) is called the Women’s Missionary Federation (WMF). In 1962 the women of the AFLC banded together to help further the work of the church. The society they formed became the Women’s Missionary Federation, working at home and abroad to further love in the kingdom of God, to unite the women of the AFLC in missions and Christian education, and to organize missionary activities in the local congregations.

Leave a Reply

