Thanks-living

I’m stuck between Thanksgiving and Advent.  I’m between gratefulness and anticipation. But, I started thinking about something my husband says. He says we should practice “Thanks-living”. We should be thankful every day for the things that God gives us…the sunshine, flowers, pets that love us, etc. I try to do that. But, I confess that I’m not always good at it. 

I’ve been fighting diabetes for 13 years.  Lately, I’ve developed psoriasis.  I struggle everyday to control them but sometimes it seems more like they are controlling me.   It gets very frustrating!  In James 1:2-4 (ESV) it says, “Consider it all joy, my brothers, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance. And let endurance have it perfect result, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing,” I think sometimes we think those trials, or some versions say sufferings, must be some big thing…like Mother Theresa living in poverty for Christ’s sake, or like those who have inflicted pain on themselves to suffer as Christ did, or a crisis like finding out you have terminal cancer. You know, big deals. But, I think it usually comes in the everyday trials we face, like illness, dealing with family, finances, our jobs, etc. In other words, we need to be thankful for everything that we face each day, and allow God to use it to mold, or perfect us into the person He would have us to be.

May God Bless You,
Velma Amundson

This entry was posted in Devotional, Situational and tagged , , , , by paulajo58. Bookmark the permalink.

About paulajo58

The national and district organization of the women of the AFLC (Assoc. of Free Lutheran Congregations) is called the Women’s Missionary Federation (WMF). In 1962 the women of the AFLC banded together to help further the work of the church. The society they formed became the Women’s Missionary Federation, working at home and abroad to further love in the kingdom of God, to unite the women of the AFLC in missions and Christian education, and to organize missionary activities in the local congregations.

Leave a Reply

