Our Greatest Need

Created by paulajo Photo Designs

“Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?  And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow:  they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we
drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”
(Matthew 6:25-33 ESV)

Recently we moved to the beautifully rugged and coastal town of Brookings, Oregon.
We left our snow boots and shovels behind in Michigan, and looked forward to our first
non-snowy winter season in many years. We were told it rained here, that it rained a lot.
The tellers of this information were not kidding. It does! I quickly came to the
realization that a raincoat was a very strong want, not truly a necessity, but certainly a
want. I knew that our budget was tight as we are currently paying a house payment for
our home back “east” and rent on our home here. So, I decided that between my
umbrella and rain boots I’d be good to go for this year. The next day I received a phone
call from a lady in our congregation saying she had some gently used clothing items she
wanted to give to me. I was excited at the prospect of some new clothing articles to
expand my wardrobe. As I pulled out one beautiful item after another from the bags of
clothes, what do you think I found in my hands? Yes, THE perfect raincoat for me,
complete with a hood.

God knew my want, and touched the heart of a woman who did not know of it, to bless
me. While I thanked God again and again in between happy shrieks for His provision, my
heart paused. Was I ever truly THIS grateful for answer to the greatest need of my heart
and soul? How often I take it for granted, the price that Jesus paid for me. The death he
endured. The Victory he won over the grave. The Resurrection that assured I serve a
living Savior! Yes, our dear Father is concerned about the details of our lives. He sees
our needs and so generously supplies them. But let’s not forget during this month of
Thanksgiving, to thank Him again and again for His greatest gift that filled our deepest
need.

This entry was posted in Devotional and tagged , , by paulajo58. Bookmark the permalink.

About paulajo58

The national and district organization of the women of the AFLC (Assoc. of Free Lutheran Congregations) is called the Women’s Missionary Federation (WMF). In 1962 the women of the AFLC banded together to help further the work of the church. The society they formed became the Women’s Missionary Federation, working at home and abroad to further love in the kingdom of God, to unite the women of the AFLC in missions and Christian education, and to organize missionary activities in the local congregations.

Leave a Reply

